Single Channel Routing is easy to create, with a clear concept of what you want to achieve and some creativity.
But, understanding how the Single Channel Routing feature works is important before we get started.
On the landing page, to the left, you will find an easy toggle to change your view between a card grid and a list view, for your convenience.
Your option to filter out only the Live routes as well as the Channel filter is on the top of the page.
On the landing page of Single Channel Routing, you will see a ribbon menu listing the channels. All your created Single Channel Routes will be shown under each channel, for ease of navigation.
If this is your first time creating a notification event, click on Create New Route and let's get started.
Alternatively, find the Create+ at the top right corner of the page.
In the pop-up that appears,
- Select the channel from the drop-down in the top right corner.
- Provide a name and description and hit "Create Route" to get started.
The page that opens on creating a new Single Channel Route is called the flow-builder.
This is what allows you to design your routing and entire design, including redundancies and failovers. Before we get started with creating complex routes, let's understand the features.
On the Flow-builder you will see:
- Action - Action allows you to execute a straightforward action, with additional features that can be added, in case needed.
- Condition - Condition allows you to provide complexity to govern the flow of notifications and execute specific actions based on the set conditions.
- Failover - Allows you to have a backup plan for all your routing flows. This helps you improve your chances of keeping that "no downtime" promise to your clients!
- Stop (Once Components have been configured)
On the Flow-builder page, you will see a few more options in the top left corner. These are:
- Extended Menu
- Rename - Renames the current Routing configuration
- Duplicate - Duplicates the current Routing configuration
- Discard - Discards the last changes made, up until the last save, on the flow-builder.
- Save - Saves the last changes that were made. This will be saved as a Draft and will be in Development environment.
- Save and Promote - Click on Save and Promote if you are happy with the flow and want to move the Route to Production environment.
If you are in Development environment, and you only Save, then the draft will not be visible in Production environment.
Every route that you create will be saved as Test versions, allowing you to test different variations and combinations of routes, to suit your needs.
When a Test version is saved, this does not disturb the Live version that may be plugged in your application and may be active.
When you are confident and happy with the Single Channel Route that you have created and tested in Test version, this can then be moved into the live version by following the below steps.
- Make the final changes on the route and test it to make sure you are getting the desirable results.
- On the top of the page, next to the name of the Single Channel Route, you will see the Draft Version mentioned.
- To keep this as a Test, click on Save and the draft will be saved.
- To make this version of the Test version live, expand the Save menu to find Save and Promote.
- This will make the current version the live version of the Single Channel Route.
Once a Single Channel Route is live, all the Notification Events into which this route is plugged in will also be automatically updated and modified.
Updated about 1 month ago